How I Start My Days

My parents have been early proponents of daily meditation but I never caught on the bandwagon until I started feeling constantly stressed-out. I came to meditation as way to regain balance in my life and to feel like I was in control again. New research has shown that meditation can have serious benefits–more than just reducing stress, it can actually help increase memory and reduce brain loss! If you haven’t already tried it out, I encourage you to give it a go.

I prefer meditating in the morning. If it’s unusually cold out (like it’s been this DC winter!), I’ll sit in a chair in my room away from noise. If I’m at home and soaking in the sunshine like I am this week, I like to meditate on my morning run, with this beauty by my side:

photo (53)

Where and when you meditate doesn’t really matter at all. You just need to find some uninterrupted time to yourself. At first, just a few minutes was all I could handle, so absolutely take baby steps. You can always add a few minutes each day once you get the hang of it. I like to repeat a few words in my head along the lines of: May I be full of lovingkindness, May my parents be full of lovingkindness, etc., until I’ve named everyone I think about. Simply sitting in silence also provides equal benefits–you just have to find what works for you!

Have you ever tried meditation? If so, have you noticed any benefits? Let me know if you give it a try!

7 responses to “How I Start My Days

  1. I recently began meditating too and it’s fantastic. At the moment I meditate in the evening though on what a successful day the next day would be. When I wake up in the morning then I already have thought through the entire day and I make it happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking Spring Snow. Your blog looks great. I too love to meditate. It brings such peace.

    Like

  3. I’ve been meditating on and off since I did a 10 day vipassana silent retreat 5 years ago. It changed my life! I prefer the mornings as well but when the 3rd baby arrived it’s been too hard so my husband and I started doing it at night. It’s been several weeks since I’ve meditated and you’ve inspired me to do it again!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

