Four Reasons Why I love Smoothies, Even in the Winter

I drink smoothies almost daily, throughout the year, even when it’s 19 degrees out in DC like it is now. I just can’t get enough and so today I thought I’d share with you my top four reasons for loving smoothies, all year round:

Smoothies for 4--sometimes I feel fancy and use wine glasses

Smoothies for 4–sometimes I feel fancy and use wine glasses

1. They’re Easily Digestible: Sometimes fresh produce can be difficult to chew. Whenever I’m eating raw kale, for example, I feel like I need to chew it all day long. Throwing that raw kale into a smoothie makes it easier for me to get down more than I could if I were eating it.

2. They’re Quick and Easy: If you only have two minutes in the morning, all you need is a blender and a to-go cup. To make things easier, keep your veggies and fruit washed and chopped the night before. All you have to do when you wake up is blend and pour! You can bring it with you in the car or train as you get to work. How simple is that?

3. They’re Nutrient-Rich: Even when I’m diligent about washing my hands the moment I get to work or home after using public transportation, it’s inevitable in the winter months that I catch a cold. Smoothies are an excellent way to boost your vitamin intake. Whenever I feel a sign of a cold coming on, I immediately down a smoothie made with extra pineapples, berries and OJ.

Me on the metro realizing I got coughed on

Me on the metro realizing I got coughed on

4. You Can’t Mess Them Up! The best thing about smoothies is that you can add however much of your favorite fruits and vegetables as you like. If you don’t like blueberries, substitute with raspberries! Out of bananas? Why not try an avocado! Not enough frozen fruit? Just add extra ice. The possibilities are endless and there’s no way to mess up a smoothie–so drink up to your health. Cheers!

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe? I’d love to try it out!

4 responses to “Four Reasons Why I love Smoothies, Even in the Winter

Leave a Reply

