Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

On my last day in the beautiful sunshine, I filled trash bags to the brim with lemons from our older-than-me lemon tree to bring back to share with my DC family and friends:

lemon tree

I only went for the low hanging fruit (vegetable?), as you can see 🙂

Every “winter” (if that’s what you call 70 degrees in January/February in Phoenix), our family receives an overabundance of fresh lemons that our tree dutifully produces. When I saw this list last month of benefits to drinking lemon water, I was excited. I’ve always enjoyed drinking lemon water because it felt refreshing, particularly after a heavy meal. What I didn’t know though, was that it can also reduce pain and replace body salts after a workout, among many other amazing benefits. picking a lemon More than the benefits though, what I really hope you’ll take away from this post is how easy it is to incorporate a healthy habit into your everyday life. You don’t need to subscribe to complicated, expensive juice cleanses to release toxins from your body–though if that’s what you enjoy, by all means do so. I just need you to know that eating and living well isn’t a zero-sum game. If you simply squeeze a cut lemon into your water at morning or night, you can help reduce bacteria growth in your body. Just a squeeze is all it takes–wasn’t that lemon easy?

One response to “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

Leave a Reply

