Snacking in the Office

Some days in the office I feel like I’m always hungry. No matter how big my lunch was, when 3pm rolls around my stomach is growling for something more.  For those afternoon cravings, here are my favorite snacks to keep me away from the vending machine and get me through the day:

Nuts and Seeds: I’m currently on a walnut kick, but nuts like almonds, peanuts, pecans, cashews, are great sources of vitamin E, fiber, and unsaturated fat. Pumpkin and sunflower seeds are also great mixed with nuts or on their own, and contain vitamin E and iron.

Walnut bowl at my desk

Walnut bowl at my desk

Fruit: Apples, bananas, peaches, oranges, plums: Fruits are nature’s perfectly snack-sized gifts to us. Simply grab an apple or banana on your way out the door and you’re good to go when the munchies attack! No need for packaging of any kind. What could be easier?

Vegetables and Hummus: I love hummus because it’s such a great source of protein. Celery or carrots are my favorite veggies to dunk into this delicious chickpea- and tahini-based dip, but pretty much any of your favorite vegetables make great vehicles for enjoying hummus. Hummus comes in so many different flavors now– a few I’ve tried include cilantro, black bean and spicy hummus. Your taste buds will never be bored!

Avocado and Crackers: Avocado is such a nutrient-rich food–it’s full of vitamins B, C, E, and K, among many others and it’s filling as well. All you need to do is slice a ripe avocado and place it atop your favorite cracker. A trick I’ve learned is to squeeze a little bit of lemon juice on a cut avocado to keep it from turning brown. That way you can store it for a snack later as well.

Happy Snacking! What are your favorite snacks for when the munchies attack?

5 responses to “Snacking in the Office

Leave a Reply

