Native Foods Cafe: My Trip to an All-Vegan Restaurant

After spending a few days at a beautiful vacation spot that lacked variety in veg*n food options, I was so excited to return back to my home in DC where I had a fantastic opportunity to try out a new (less than a year old!) restaurant called Native Foods Cafe, located just south of Dupont Circle.

native foods

Native Foods Cafe is fast-casual, all-vegan cafe that was founded in California and has now expanded to many cities across the U.S. Their menu is 100% plant-based and they prepare everything fresh, each and every day.

Broccoli family!

Broccoli family!

Tracy and Jack, my gracious hosts, welcomed myself and my best friend (a fellow vegetarian!) to the restaurant and gave us cups to fill with their homemade juice while we deliberated over the menu. We both went for the Watermelon Fresca, which was made with fresh watermelon and mint. So refreshing! There were so many juices to taste from and I can’t wait to try them all!

So many juices, how to pick just one!?

So many juices, how to pick just one!?

I had a chance to check out the super sweet art work all over walls in downstairs area, where more seating was available. It was all so cheery and put a big smile on my face. I loved the broccoli family especially. Here are some more cute plants:

Beet of the Drums!

Beet of the Drums!

Our mouths were watering when Jack brought us our meal. I ordered the Twister Wrap, with a side of Lemongrass Broccoli and my friend ordered the Chicken, Bacon & Avo Club with a side of Crispy Sweet Potato Fries. Oh my gosh! We were blown away by how good it all tasted. We just couldn’t get over the fact that everything was 100% vegan–the “chicken” in our meals was so soft and moist, we could hardly believe it wasn’t the real thing. My Twister Wrap was full of yummy veggies, Native chicken, and a creamy ranch sauce. The broccoli had the perfect amount of lemongrass and just enough heat to give it a little zing. My friend loved her club sandwich and her sweet potato fries were perfect (I definitely grabbed a few from her plate!). With just a touch of cinnamon and sugar, they were the best complement to her meal.

Twister Wrap and Lemongrass Broccoli

Twister Wrap and Lemongrass Broccoli

Chicken, Bacon & Avo Club with Crispy Sweet Potato Fries

Chicken, Bacon & Avo Club with Crispy Sweet Potato Fries

By the time we got to dessert we were so full–but Jack insisted we try their delicious, dairy-free desserts. I am a sucker for carrot cake, so when I saw the Carrot Caramel Cupcake, I couldn’t resist. My friend went with the Peanut Butter Parfait and we nibbled on our desserts outside. We really couldn’t get over the fact that my cupcake was made without eggs–it practically melted in my mouth. So yummy!

Peanut Butter Parfait

Peanut Butter Parfait

Carrot Carmel Cupcake

Carrot Caramel Cupcake

Jack and Tracy made sure my trip to Native Foods Cafe was exceptional. I feel so lucky to have an eco-friendly, plant-based restaurant with a wide range of choices so close to where I live. When you’re in DC or anywhere near a Native Foods Cafe, I absolutely recommend you check it out. Native Foods will equally impress your vegan, vegetarian, or omnivore friends.

Full Disclosure: Native Foods Cafe provided me this meal in exchange for my unbiased review here at greenmindvegheart.wordpress.com. I did not receive financial compensation for this post.

9 responses to “Native Foods Cafe: My Trip to an All-Vegan Restaurant

  1. I absolutely loved this restaurant when I was in Orange County a couple of weeks ago! Was so nice to be so spoilt for choice and in vegan friendly areas compared to Australia.

    Like

    • How wonderful you were able to try it out while you were in the OC! Exactly right about being choice-starved in general when eating out as a veg*n. I still can’t get over how many dishes Native Foods offers us.

      Like

      • Was definitely spoilt for choice and couldn’t contain my excitement at having the option to eat everything and anything from the menu! I ate at Veggie Grill, Lyfe Kitchen and 118 Degress as well which are all vegan restaurants in OC as well. They have a vegan beer festival in CA too which I want to go to one day! Now I’m back to slim pickings at home lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

