Organic or Not? How to Decide What to Buy

People who follow plant-based diets tend to eat many more fruits and veggies naturally, because we substitute plants for meat. If you’ve gone grocery shopping as a veg*n, you probably noticed that produce was one of the most expensive items on your bill, right? That’s why it’s called Whole Paycheck. Oh sorry, I meant Whole Foods.

These days you can find an organic option for almost every conventional fruit or vegetable at the grocery store. How do you decide which organic items you should spring for, and when you can save your hard-earned cash and go with the non-organic option?

It’s easy, simply bring this handy Environmental Working Group’s 2015 Shopper’s Guide to Pesticides in Produce with you the next time you’re out stocking up your fridge.

The 12 fruits and vegetables most likely to be contaminated with pesticide residue:

Apples

Peaches

Nectarines

Strawberries

Grapes

Celery

Spinach

Sweet bell peppers

Cucumbers

Cherry tomatoes

Snap peas

Potatoes

IMG_2778.JPG
Two of the Top Perpetrators

The 15 fruits and vegetables least likely to be contaminated with pesticide residue:

Avocados

Sweet corn

Pineapples

Cabbage

Sweet peas

Onions

Asparagus

Mangoes

Papayas

Kiwis

Eggplant

Grapefruit

Cantaloupe

Cauliflower

Sweet potatoes

Organic or not, be sure to wash your produce before eating. Grocery shopping can be a challenge but luckily the EWG has done its research to help us figure out which produce items may contain the highest amounts of pesticides. Do you follow this list? Which items (if any) do you buy organic/conventional?

10 responses to “Organic or Not? How to Decide What to Buy

  1. I was JUST thinking about this! You seriously read my mind! (This isn’t the first time – like the avocados…) I was considering creating myself a little wallet sized version of these lists, because I knew they existed but don’t really consult with them. I have just been attempting to use what little judgement I have based on the peel of the fruit. I kind of just figure thicker skin means less porous so I’m probably okay not getting organic. I’m printing out your post so I have it! Thanks!

    Like

  2. I have been trying to follow the list for a while within reasonable price limits 🙂
    I use the DirtyDozen app in my phone to check things in the grocery, since it is hard to keep track of which is safe and which is not!

    Like

  3. I have noticed that. One of the things that I do is to look at what is the most expensive. Things like herbs are pretty dear. So, I grow them. I have pots of mint and basil. Stevia. Costs a lot less and makes a difference with my dishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

