Meatless Monday: Guacamole

You might remember from this post that I live for avocados. For today’s Meatless Monday, I want to share with you my favorite way to eat these alligator pears: guacamole.

Ingredients (Serves 4-6)

2 ripe avocados–I know an avocado is ripe when it’s skin is mostly black rather than green and feels slightly squishy
4 teaspoons lemon juice
1/2 clove of garlic, minced
2 teaspoons salt
one stem of green onion, chopped
chili powder, to taste
chopped cilantro, to taste

Instructions

Peel avocados, remove pits, and place in bowl
Add lemon juice, salt, garlic, onion, and chili powder (if using) to bowl
Mash the mixture with a fork, or potato masher to your preferred consistency (I like mine slightly chunky, and tend to go easy with the mashing)
Sprinkle in cilantro, if using and mix gently

Serve with your favorite tortilla chips, black bean burritos, or tacos.

Guacamole is one of my favorite sides to bring to summer gatherings–it’s so easy to make, and it’s vegan/gluten-free.

IMG_2798.JPG

I brought this to my friend M’s house last night and it went well with the completely vegan and super tasty dinner he made.

Do you have a go-to guacamole recipe you love?

6 responses to “Meatless Monday: Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Round Up « Marcey's Table

  2. Pingback: My Week In The Blogosphere! « Marcey's Table

Leave a Reply

